Tags

, , , , , ,

UpDown

“ I don’t know where he is going, but I know that I am going to hell.”

This was spoken by a man who was part of a group of family and friends keeping vigil at a young mans bedside while a minister friend and I were visiting.  We were there offering prayers and comfort.  We had been summoned to this place by members of the dying man’s family to reach out to this man in hopes that God would offer salvation in this the eleventh hour.

There were attempts to ascertain the state of the dying mans soul, I cannot with any sense of assurance say he heard or even understood the questions regarding his salvation or the path to accepting Christ as Lord and Savior.  We prayed for the young man and those present.  There was a strong sense of hopelessness in the room, a dire need for the grace and mercy of God.  My friend and I began ministering to those around us and it was at this point that the second man made his declaration, and he left the room.

“ I don’t know where he is going, but I know that I am going to hell.”

Upon consideration, I do not know where the young man lying in the bed will spend eternity either. There appears to have been little if any fruit of repentance shown in his life, no indications of a saved soul, or the walk of one dedicated to serving Christ.  I am extremely sorrowful for this and it was my fervent prayer that the mercy of God would be worked in this while there was still breath.

As for the second man, I can say with certainty he will indeed spend eternity in hell if he continues on the path he travels.  You might ask, “How can I be so judgmental and say such a thing”?  It is because scripture tells me so.  We are all mostly familiar with John 3:16, For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.  And I believe some would even be familiar with the next verse John 3:17, For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved.  But for most it ends there, and it is here where the second man resides.

 John 3:18-20
He that believeth on him is not condemned: but he that believeth not is condemned already, because he hath not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God.  And this is the condemnation, that light is come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil.  For every one that doeth evil hateth the light, neither cometh to the light, lest his deeds should be reproved.

As we were leaving I went to the second man, my heart was breaking for this one.  I was dismayed (though not surprised) that after further discussion it was found that the man actually had a great deal of knowledge concerning the way to salvation.  He offered up of his own accord that it takes repentance, confession of sin and profession of Christ as Lord and Savior for one to receive salvation.

And still, he declares there is no salvation for himself.  Why?

Because as John 3:18-20 states, the man does not believe, and that unbelief cuts him off, separates him from Christ.  The man hates the light and loves his wicked deeds.  This is his condemnation.  And it is this that makes his assertion correct.  As long as he continues to deny the Savior there will be no salvation for him.  There is only one way to heaven, one entrance into salvation.

John 14:6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

Denial of Christ and His offer of salvation effectively removes any hope of deliverance.

Matthew 10:33 But whosoever shall deny me before men, him will I also deny before my Father which is in heaven.

Luke 12:9 But he that denieth me before men shall be denied before the angels of God.

And further;

Hebrews 2:3 How shall we escape, if we neglect so great salvation; which at the first began to be spoken by the Lord, and was confirmed unto us by them that heard him;

Hebrews 10:29-31 Of how much sorer punishment, suppose ye, shall he be thought worthy, who hath trodden under foot the Son of God, and hath counted the blood of the covenant, werewith he was sanctified, an unholy thing, and hath done despite unto the Spirit of grace?  For we know him that hath said, Vengeance belongeth unto me, I will recompense, saith the Lord.  And again, The Lord shall judge his people.  It is a fearful thing to fall into the hands of the living God.

