Tags

, , , , ,

Setting: Pentecost fully come, Jerusalem, Jesus has ascended into heaven and Jerusalem was filled with devout men out of every nation.  The upper room: The Holy Ghost has just been poured out of heaven upon and into the 120 people tarrying in the upper room awaiting the promised Comforter. (Promised Comforter: Jesus said, Acts 1:8 But ye shall receive power, after that the Holy Ghost is come upon you: and ye shall be witnesses unto me both in Jerusalem, and in all Judaea, and in Samaria, and unto the uttermost part of the earth.)

Upon the receipt of the Holy Spirit, the prophecy was immediately fulfilled, “ye shall be witnesses unto me”.  Peter standing up, lifted up his voice, and said unto them, the devout men out of every nation.

What was it he said?

Acts chapter 2:14-36.  Peter, under the anointing of God, preaches to the masses openly at Jerusalem.  He preaches the scripture, plainly, without fear.  The Word of God fulfills the will of God and goes forth. The preaching of the plain Word of God exposes to the people their sin.  What was in darkness is brought to the light, what was hidden is now exposed.  They were pricked in their heart, (they were under conviction).

Can you imagine the scene?  The conviction of the Spirit must have been intense, working no doubt visibly on the souls present, until one cries out, “What shall we do?”

What shall we do to escape this wrath, this weight now exposed for all that it is bearing down upon us, crushing us?

Acts 2:37 Now when they heard this, they were pricked in their heart, and said unto Peter and to the rest of the apostles, Men and brethren, what shall we do?

What did Peter tell them to do?

It was not, everyone bow your head and close your eyes!

Where did this come from?  Jesus Christ, the only begotten of God, comes down to earth, as man, takes sin- our sin- my sin- your sin

and;

“Blotting out the handwriting of ordinances that was against us, which was contrary to us, and took it out of the way, nailing it to his cross; And having spoiled principalities and powers, he made a shew of them openly, triumphing over them in it.” (Colossians 2:14,15).

He hangs on the cross- bloodied, mangled beyond recognition, suffering the crushing wrath of God, and then He dies!  Three days in the grave he takes captivity captive, then seizing death, hell, and the grave He resurrects and later ascends into heaven awaiting the time for His triumphant return for His glorious church, and we offer entry into this covenant with;

every head bowed every eye closed (nobody peeking around)?!?!?  Now who wants to say this prayer?

Where in scripture is this outlined?

David cried out, “When I kept silence, my bones waxed old through my roaring all the day long. For day and night thy hand was heavy upon me: my moisture is turned into the drought of summer. Selah.” (Psalm 32:3,4)

What was his source of relief?

Psalm 32:5 I acknowledged my sin unto thee, and mine iniquity have I not hid. I said, I will confess my transgressions unto the LORD; and thou forgavest the iniquity of my sin. Selah.

Proverbs 28:13 He that covereth his sins shall not prosper: but whoso confesseth and forsaketh them shall have mercy.

In 1 Corinthians 14:20-25 Paul says if an unbeliever comes into the church, prophecy (the Word of God) will reveal the secrets of his heart and the unbeliever’s response will be one of falling down on his face and worshiping God.

What is with this, let’s confess our sins and make our profession, only let’s do it secretly?  We don’t want to scare or embarrass the sinner . . .???

Mark 8:38 Whosoever therefore shall be ashamed of me and of my words in this adulterous and sinful generation; of him also shall the Son of man be ashamed, when he cometh in the glory of his Father with the holy angels.

In that same chapter Jesus asked the disciples, “Whom say ye that I am?”,

WHOM SAY YE THAT I AM?

Is that not the question asked of each of us when we were called to repentance?

Jesus: Whom do you (sinner) say that I am?  Sinner: Why you are the Christ, my salvation.  You are He who died for my sins, I am approaching to confess my wickedness before your Holiness, my uncleanness before your Purity.  I confess my sinfulness and need of a Savior.  I repent and proclaim you Lord of my life.

If I do this timidly, ashamedly do I do it at all?

Matthew 10:32,33 Whosoever therefore shall confess me before men, him will I confess also before my Father which is in heaven. But whosoever shall deny me before men, him will I also deny before my Father which is in heaven.

Romans 1:16 For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth; to the Jew first, and also to the Greek.

Romans 10:9 That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.

Back at Jerusalem, Pentecost; Peter proclaiming the Gospel and those men convicted crying out, “what shall we do?”

What did Peter instruct them do?

I know without a doubt it was not,

I SEE THAT HAND.

