Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

pointing

There are times I  feel the need to pray, asking the Lord to enable me to lose all sense of self-sufficiency, being reminded that scripture states;

Luke 9:23,24 And he said to them all, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow me.  For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: but whosoever will lose his life for my sake, the same shall save it.

It is during these moments I again remember the truth (so easily set aside) as the old hymn proclaims, “nothing in my hands I bring, simply to thy cross I cling”, it is here I must admit my salvation lies in Christ alone.

Acts 4:10-12 Be it known unto you all, and to all the people of Israel, that by the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, whom ye crucified, whom God raised from the dead, even by him doth this man stand here before you whole.  This is the stone which was set at nought of you builders, which is become the head of the corner. Neither is there salvation in any other: for there is none other name under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved.

Jesus began the good work, He performed the good work, and He will finish the good work. All I need do is look to Him and surrender, and then in and by faith- rest in Him.

Hebrews 10:12-14  But this man, after he had offered one sacrifice for sins for ever, sat down on the right hand of God; From henceforth expecting till his enemies be made his footstool.  For by one offering he hath perfected for ever them that are sanctified.

Hebrews 12:2  Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.

Sadly, it seems I readily lose sight of Him as I progress through daily life, rather than looking to Him, I chose to cling to my own righteousness (which is no righteousness) and my own religiousness and legalism, choosing at times to lift myself up by putting others down.

It is then that my own judgments judge me, my own measurements limit me, and my pride diminishes the work Christ is working in me. All because I begin to rob God of the glory of the salvation He gives by supposing I have it ALL figured out.

Oh how utterly small and pitiful man is…

How easily sidetracked, and led away by all that glitters and sparkles in this life!  Distracted, not redeeming the time!

I want to see my family saved, I want to see the people I work with come
to Christ!  This world is horrible anymore- but I weep anyway for the souls
destined to a devils hell!

I can’t trick them into repentance, nor can I coerce them.  Neither should I try and guilt them into it, and I surely will not persuade them by telling them how holy I am over against their sinfulness.

All I can/MUST do is present the gospel and then get out of the way.

I am so weary anymore of my own self righteousness and my desperately wicked heart… I want God to work in peoples lives because He is working through me, not in-spite of me.

David wrote in Psalms 32:1-2 Blessed is he whose transgression is forgiven, whose sin is covered. Blessed is the man unto whom the LORD imputeth not iniquity, and in whose spirit there is no guile.

Lord, let there be no guile in me, no self-righteousness, no duplicity of heart.  Let me live in purity and honesty of heart, surrendering all the glory to you and you alone.  Always acknowledging your act of salvation within my life,  thereby pointing men only to Christ Jesus- the true Savior.  Amen

