Tags

, , , , , ,

conformed

Within sanctification we encounter the command to be conformed to the image of Christ Jesus. What does it mean, to be conformed?

Conformed:

  1. to behave acceptably: to behave or think in a socially acceptable or expected way
  2. follow a standard: to comply with a fixed standard, regulation, or requirement
  3. be or make similar: to be the same as or very similar to something or somebody, or make something similar

So, using the second and third part of the definition provided when viewing Romans 8:28-29…

Romans 8:28,29
And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose. For whom he did foreknow, he also did predestinate to BE CONFORMED to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brethren.

… We can say that we are expected to comply with the FIXED STANDARD that is Jesus Christ, and to BE THE SAME AS or SIMILAR to Him.

And conversely, according to Romans 12:1,2, we are to NOT comply to the unholy, unacceptable standards, regulations or requirements imposed on us by this WORLD…

Romans 12:1,2
I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. And BE NOT CONFORMED to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.

In this, allowing ourselves to be TRANSFORMED by having our minds renewed, and thereby proving what is the GOOD, and ACCEPTABLE and PERFECT- will of God.

The more I consider it though, I find it just about impossible to think that I could, within myself, by my own effort, conform to the IMAGE of Christ. I honestly (and think scripturally) believe that that is truly the work of God. Because…

For whom HE DID foreknow, HE also DID predestinate to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brethren. Moreover whom HE DID predestinate, them HE also CALLED: and whom HE CALLED, them HE also JUSTIFIED: and whom HE JUSTIFIED, them HE also GLORIFIED.

Notice; He did, He did, He called, He, He- Who? God. God did these things.

But I know that I am expected to present my body- MY BODY, a LIVING sacrifice unto God.

I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service.

How?

By continually choosing God over self, holiness over sin.

Oh yes, it is my choice to make. I can choose my way (SIN), or God’s way (HOLINESS). Yet, even in this I must admit it is God’s Spirit working within me, enabling me to accomplish this.

Then how can I say it is up to me to do the presenting?

Because the Word says, “YE present YOUR bodies…

Hmmm. The question for another time is.

What is the meaning behind Romans 8:28,29 being past tense?

Have a blessed day all.

