Tags

, , , , , ,

He’s just doing that out of spite.”

Is it not strange how the addition of that sort of statement seems to justify a different sort of response when someone is showing hostility towards us? I mean, come on, that person is deliberately trying to hurt me… My response in kind should be justified.

Right?

It seems entirely natural to want to lash back at someone being abusive, especially when their offenses are obviously done deliberately. Not many people can stand idly by while being wrongly abused, or unjustly mistreated, hated for no apparent reason… Surely a response in like kind is warranted, appropriate even!

Right?

Well, this may come as the proverbial slap in the face, but no.

No, retaliation is not acceptable. At least not if we are trying to live out our lives as Christians, ever-growing in our faith and desire to please our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

As suitable as it seems, as fulfilling as it might appear to be, ours is not the typical response… It cannot be. Don’t get me wrong, it is not easy, nor is it comfortable, most especially when it is a family member or some other person that has direct influence into your daily life and your lack of response allows for their prideful gloating.

How challenging.

Even now I find myself involved in a couple different situations where I am on the receiving end of unwarranted, unjustified abuse. It is not enjoyable. It is not just something I can shrug off. In fact, the things going on hurt very deeply. Emotionally draining at times… embarrassing at times… reducing me to weeping at times… These are not light matters.

To make matters worse due to my perceived lack of response the behavior of the adversarial parties grows bolder and more bombastic with every passing moment.

What are we as Christians to do? Notice I said ‘perceived lack of response’, I am responding just not in the socially normative manner. I am not lashing back, throwing punch for punch, or ballistic missile for missile… No, I am praying for them. I am praying that they would be made whole. That their hurt would be healed. That they would come to know the love of Christ, that same love that compels me now to pray for them rather than responding with violence.

This is the ONLY response I have as a Christian.

Matthew 5:43-48 Ye have heard that it hath been said, Thou shalt love thy neighbour, and hate thine enemy. 44 But I say unto you, LOVE YOUR ENEMIES, BLESS THEM THAT CURSE YOU, DO GOOD TO THEM THAT HATE YOU, and PRAY FOR THEM WHICH DESPITEFULLY USE YOU, and PERSECUTE YOU; 45 That ye may be the children of your Father which is in heaven: for he maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust. 46 For if ye love them which love you, what reward have ye? do not even the publicans the same? 47 And if ye salute your brethren only, what do ye more than others? do not even the publicans so? 48 Be ye therefore perfect, even as your Father which is in heaven is perfect.

Does this make it any easier? Honestly, not always. But I know if I keep praying the Lord will work in me and in the situation for the greatest good in both.